Say after me – I don’t know!

The mayor is, we have to think, just incapable of saying  “I don’t know. ”

In the CBC video linked in the previous post, when asked if there was a Green Party candidate in this riding, Mayor Bob Stead said, quite confidently, as if he knew, NO there wasn’ t.

Poor Sheila Richardson.

He should have known, given his Green credentials,  and rather than be embarrassed he guessed. It didn’t matter if he was wrong. The important thing for him was to look good.  This is typical behavior.

It is bad enough that the mayor doesn’t know what he is talking about but to give an answer (often quite wrong)  with such assurance when in fact he hasn’t a clue is … well … what would you call that?

 

3 responses to “Say after me – I don’t know!

  1. Robert Wrye

    It is called an error something many of us make from time to time. However since you do not like the Mayor it is another opportunity to insult him and give Mr. Sanderson another opportunity to make a rude and insulting remark since he does not like him either. Makes you realize why a lot of people will not run for public office.

    • If politicians were more inclined to admit their errors, or at least to confess the uncertainty of their pronouncements, I’d be more inclined to cut them some slack. If politicians were less inclined to aggressively legislate into every corner of our lives, I’d not have to resist them every inch of the way. You bet we all make errors. Show me I’m wrong and I’ll correct my error immediately. Show a politician he’s wrong and he’ll obfuscate and conceal (repress if they think they can).

      “Pomp-ass”; Mr Wrye calls it an insult, I call it a statement of fact. The Mayor does not answer even my most straightforward question in a factual manner and is totally disinterested in any form of analysis. This is his choice. The Mayor has branded himself — Mr Wrye may admire the Mayor’s fine suit but all I see is a butt naked potentate. Not being a politician, I am in the habit of saying what I see.

      Is Mr Wrye is suggesting that those of us who write things as we see them are in some way the reason “why a lot of people will not run for public office”? I’d suggest that those who are in public office might be at least a part problem. Or perhaps it is the very nature of some public offices that is a contradiction to reason? A debate worth having?

      Given my personal experiences, I remain to be convinced that some public offices are worth having, let alone worth running for.