Gloss

gloss1

n

1. lustre or sheen, as of a smooth surface
2. a superficially attractive appearance

to give a gloss to or obtain a gloss See also gloss over

gloss2

n

1. (Library Science & Bibliography) a short or expanded explanation or interpretation of a word, expression, or foreign phrase in the margin or text of a manuscript, etc.
2. an intentionally misleading explanation or interpretation
The Mayor’s newsletter is glossy. The colours are glossy. The article on Lutz Becker is glossy.
Our tax dollars at work.
5 responses to “Gloss

  1. That “legal matters” article has raised deceptive omission to the level of a fine art… I’m almost impressed!

    And then, on page 10, there is Maestro Gloss-Man telling us that spending 43% of the capital budget on road construction is “astronomical”. What he carefully avoids is explaining that 43% of the capital budget is only 8% of the total budget….

    So what’s the truth behind those deceptive percentages? Simple, the operational budget is totally out of hand! Nowadays, public service is all about public servants helping themselves to a very generous portion, from your purse…

    On the plus side, I see Gloss-Man is encouraging people to participate. But only that special type of person. You know, the type that bow and prostrate themselves before to the great Maestro. Obviously the Great One should not be bothered by those, like me, who he has consigned to the junk-mail bin.

  2. William Zimmerman

    Mr. Sanderson:
    Somehow you didn’t notice the operating part of the transportation budget?
    You are more than welcome to join a study circle although you have previously expressed disdain for participating in such other exercise with others. But beware, bullying will not be tolerated in discussions.

  3. Dear Representative Zimmerman,

    Are you telling me that 17% of the operating budget is for “road construction”? If so, then I stand corrected and deduce that the Town is spending about $2million on road construction this year.

    While dealing with “road construction”, let’s have more of those low-profile curbs. It gives bicyclists an escape route, and is easier on those with “challenged mobility”. Low profile curbs should also save a bit of money — less concrete and less damage associated with snow plowing.

    I’m sure that study circles work well for those who say what those with power wish to hear. Obviously, that excludes me — so can I please get a small rebate for the cost of those Communications Consultants that you hired? I don’t want to talk to them! I’m always willing to talk/correspond with those who were elected to represent us — without charge!

    From your previous correspondence, I inferred that I was not welcome — except in the “Welcome-to-be-taxed-in-Wolfville sense”. Are you now also suggesting that I’m a bully or is that some sort of bureaucratic warning that you give to all?

  4. Sanderson, I find those low profile curbs to be easier than a standard one, but can still be a harsh bump especially on a road bike. Also, when riding parallel to these curbs, it’s not easy to ride over them. In my experience, you need to approach them closer to a perpendicular angle, which I think is contrary to what you’re suggesting they be used for.

    Regardless, I think it’s awesome that you’re considering what cyclists need (most road construction in NS seems to completely ignore us) but if you look at successful bicycle infrastructure from around the world I don’t think you’ll find much of this type of curb. I don’t believe bikes should need this escape route you mention. We are full road users; we need to fight harder for our space in the streets and share the road with other users. The last thing we need is encouragement to be pushed off the road by cars.

    There are plenty of pretty sounding policies in the new MPS about bikes, but on the ground, all I see is more money going into a car-dominated system. I feel like the best way for the Town to grow cycling is to talk with local bikers. Local cyclists will always know the issues better than anyone else. We’re the ones dealing with poorly maintained shoulders, asshole drivers, and the lack of understanding on how to share a road. Staff, councilors or consultants may know a lot about deliberating over traffic studies and official policies, but no one knows a system’s issues/potentials better than it’s users.

    If you ride a bike, I’d make the argument you know more about how to improve cycling conditions than some non-cycling-goon in an office. This is why you should join the transportation study circles and stand up for bicycling!

    • Having been a bicyclist for many years I understand exactly where Marky Mark is coming from. Having been hit twice (seriously) and having lost 2 of my dear old cycling buddies to collisions, I’m also a realist about not expecting the other guy to do the right thing.

      For a time I cycled a racing bicycle in Melbourne (Australia) where one has to make oblique crossings of tram tracks! This was done by jumping the bicycle. I figure I could jump a low profile curb easily. Correction, when/if ever I get my rusty old knee back to health.

      Mark, I agree, with a tear in my eye.